Blog post

1.7 – Identify vSphere distributed switch and vSphere standard switch capabilities

standard switch

  • Virtual switch that is configured for a single host

Distributed switch

  • Virtual switch that is configured for an entire datacenter
  • Up to 2000 hosts can be attached
  • Configuration is consistent across all attached hosts
  • Hosts must have either an Enterprise Plus license or belong to a vSAN cluster

VCenter server owns the config of the distributed switch.
Standard & distributed shared features:

  • Layer 2 switch
  • VLAN segmentation (802.1Q tagging)
  • IPv6 support
  • NIC teaming
  • Outbound traffic shaping
  • CDP

Additional distributed features:

  • Inbound traffic shaping
    • VM Network port block
    • Private VLANs
    • Load-based teaming
  • Data center level management
  • vMotion migration of Virtual networking state
  • Per-port policy settings
  • Port state monitoring of network statistics
  • Netflow
  • Port mirroring
  • Access to NSX-T port groups
  • LLDP
  • NIOC